Who I Am and What I Do

In the last two days, at least seven or eight of my fellow MFAs have informed me that I was correct and that they do read my blog. And I was like, “Duh.” If you guys had blogs, I’d be reading them too. It’s actually a little odd; they don’t have much of a social media presence. If I was in a grad program with twenty SF writers, there’d be ten blogs and sixteen twitter accounts. But then, maybe the reason that SF writers have all that stuff is because they don’t have grad programs in which to do their networking.

            Anyway, these comments reminded me that this blog long ago expanded beyond the bounds of people whom I know personally. As such, I thought it might be nice to give a little recap of things that I think most long-time blog readers will be familiar with.

  • This is me. My name is Rahul Kanakia.

  • I’m 26 (almost 27).
  • I just entered an MFA creative writing program at Johns Hopkins University.
  • Since the age of 18, I’ve been writing and submitting stories. Most of these have been science fiction and fantasy short stories. A number of these stories have been published. If you want to read some, I guess I’d recommend: Ted Agonistes (very short) and What Everyone Remembers (a bit longer).
  • I’ve written three novels, all science fiction, two for adults, and one for young adults. I never revised or submitted the first novel. The second novel (the YA novel) was finished, polished, and is currently being submitted to agents. I am currently revising the third novel.
  • I’ve been maintaining this blog since the summer of 2008 (though it’s only been regularly updated since about 2010). I used to blog on political topics, but nowadays I tend to steer clear of those. I mostly blog about books, my writing, and the writing life. I’m flirting with an expansion to more confessional topics, though.
  • I’m gay.
  • I’m super-tall (6′ 7″). That’s almost exactly two meters, for those of you who swing that way.
  • I’m of Indian descent. My parents both grew up in Mumbai and came to the U.S. for graduate school.
  • I currently live in Baltimore.
  • I quit smoking about a year ago.
  • Before coming to Baltimore in the summer of 2012, I lived in Oakland, California for eighteen months.
  • Before that, I lived in Washington, DC for two years.
  • While I was in Oakland and DC, I worked for the World Bank, primarily on environmental operations in Bangladesh, Pakistan, and India.
  • Before moving to D.C., I was in Palo Alto, trying lackadaisically to find a job in the news media.
  • Before living in Palo Alto, I interned for three months at a tiny newspaper in Northern California.
  • Before that, I was in college for four years. I attended Stanford University and graduated in June 2008 with a B.A. in Economics (the best degree ever). In college, I lived for two years in a vegetarian co-op named Synergy that I still heart extensively. Yes, it is totally the equivalent of the old fratboy who still waxes nostalgic about his fraternity.
  • I spent grades 6-8 and 10-12 at a small all-boys Catholic prep school in Washington, D.C. called St. Anselm’s Abbey School. I spent ninth grade at the American Embassy School of New Delhi. My parents still live (sort of) in Washington, DC (which is why I went there after striking out in California).
  • Prior to that, I lived in College Park, Maryland; New Providence, New Jersey; and various locations in California.
  • I was born in Redwood City, CA in 1985

I think that about does it. Perhaps this is a bit of a bio-dump, but, honestly, I read tons of blogs, and I always find it quite annoying to have to figure out, from context, who (and where!) people are. Also, yes, I will accept your facebook friend request.